titlebar.gif (1947 bytes) menubar.gif (2897 bytes)
SoR logo

Officers and Committees

Officers of The Society are elected for a two-year term. The officers, plus the most recent living Past President and three other elected members comprise the Executive Committee, which is the governing body of The Society. They take office at the beginning of January 1st of the year immediately following their election.

In addition, there are several committees to carry out the various activities of The Society.

Executive Committee 2018-2019

Norman J. Wagner
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
University of Delaware
Colburn Lab
Newark, DE 19716
(302) 831-8079
Vice President
Michael D. Graham
Chemical and Biological Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
3010 Engineering Hall
1415 Engineering Drive
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 265-3780
Albert Co
Department of Chemical and
  Biological Engineering
University of Maine
5737 Jenness Hall
Orono, ME 04469-5737
Christopher C. White
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Stop 8615
Bldg 226 Room B350
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8615
(301) 975-6016
Ralph H. Colby
Departments of Materials Science and Engineering
and Chemical Engineering
Pennsylvania State University
309 Steidle Building
University Park, PA 16802
(814) 863-3457
JOR Editorial Office

Ania Bukowski, Editorial Assistant
Michel Cloitre
Soft Matter and Chemistry- UMR 7167
École Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (ESPCI)
10 rue Vauquelin
75005 Paris, France
+33 (0)1 40 79 51 15

Eric M. Furst
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716

Amy Shen
Micro/Bio/Nanofluidics Unit
Okinawa Institute of Technology Graduate University
1919-1 Tancha, Onna-son, Kunigami-gun
Okinawa, Japan 904-0495

Gareth H. McKinley
Department of Mechanical Engineering, 3-250
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA 02139
(617) 258-0754

Standing Committees

Membership Committee (2018-2019)
Gordon Christopher
Cari Dutcher
Carlos López-Barrón
Charles Schroeder
Kelly Schultz, chair
Vivek Sharma
Patrick Spicer
Kathleen Weigandt
Education Committee (2018-2019)
Ross Clark
Jacinta Conrad
Chris Dimitriou
Helen Joyner
Jonathan P. Rothstein, co-chair
Maryam Sepehr, co-chair
Johannes Soulages
Bingham Award Committee
Adam Burbige (2018-2020)
Julie Kornfield (2018-2020)
Greg McKenna (2018-2020)
Jai Pathak (2016-2018)
Ravi Prakash (2017-2019)
William Russel (2016-2018)
David Venerus (2017-2019), chair
Metzner Award Committee
Shelley Anna (2017-2019)
Christian Clasen (2016-2018)
Will Hartt (2018-2020)
Peter Olmsted (2017-2019)
Patrick Underhill (2016-2018), chair
SOR Fellowship Committee
Antony Beris (2018-2020)
Chris Macosko (2016-2018)
Paula Moldenaers (2017-2019), chair
Susan Muller (2016-2018)
Lynn Walker (2018-2020)
Journal Publication Award Committee (2018-2019)
Michel Cloitre (MAL)
Ralph Colby (Editor)
Savvas Hatzikiriakos
Amy Shen (MAL)
Roseanna Zia (Associate Editor)
Meetings Policy Committee (2018-2019)
Michael Graham, co-chair (VP)
Andrew M. Kraynik, co-chair
Albert Co (Secretary)
Matt Liberatore (2017 Fall Local)
Anne Grillet (2017 Fall Program)
Randy Ewoldt (2017 Fall Program)
Jason Maxey (2018 Local)
Gordon Christopher (2018 Program)
Marie-Claude Heuzey (2018 Program)
Ad hoc Audit Committee (2018-2020)
Bamin Khomami
Rekha Rao
Monty Shaw, chair
Ad hoc Financial Advisement Committee (2018-2020)
Anne Grillet, chair
Michael Solomon


Webmaster (2018-2019)
Albert Co
Editor, Rheology Bulletin (2018-2019)
Faith A. Morrison
Associate Editor, Journal of Rheology (2018-2019)
Roseanna N. Zia
Editorial Assistant, Journal of Rheology
Ania Bukowksi
Director, International Outreach Program (2018-2019)
Gerald G. Fuller
Student Travel Grants Administrator (2018-2019)
Eric Furst

Associations with External Committees/Organizations

American Institute of Physics (AIP)

SoR Designee to AIP Governing Board (2018-2020)
Faith A. Morrison
SoR Member Representative to AIP (2018-2020)
Eric Furst
SoR Representative on AIP Education Liaison Committee (2018-2020)
Jonathan Rothstein
SoR Representative on AIP Liaison Committee for Underrepresented Minorities (2017-2019)
Maryam Sepehr
SoR Representative on AIP History Liaison Committee (2017-2019)
Gareth McKinley
SoR Representative on AIP Public Policy Liaison Committee (2018-2020)

AIP Publishing (AIPP)

SoR Designee to AIPP Board of Managers (2018-2020)
A. Jeffrey Giacomin
SoR Representatives on AIPP Publishing Partners Committee
Peter Olmstead (2017-2019)
Roseanna Zia (2018-2020)
At-Large Member of the AIPP Board of Managers (2017-2019)
Gerry Fuller
Treasurer, AIPP Board of Managers (2017-2019)
Gerry Fuller

International Committee on Rheology

SoR Delegate to ICR (2016-2020)
Susan J. Muller
Secretary to the ICR (2016-2020)
Gerald G. Fuller

U.S. National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics

SoR Representative to NCTAM  (2018-2020)
Shelley Anna

Please e-mail suggestions and comments to albertco@umche.maine.edu.
Updated 04 May 2018